Unmarked grave dug up in hunt for England’s King Alfred the Great


130327102635-alfred-the-great-story-top
Archaeologists dug up an unmarked grave in a quiet English churchyard in search of remains of King Alfred the Great, a ninth century monarch credited with fending off the Vikings.

The exhumation was apparently triggered by fears that interest over the recent discovery of the skeleton of Richard III could lead grave robbers to dig the area for his bones.
 
Alfred the Great is known to generations of schoolchildren through a popular legend that tells of his scolding by a peasant woman for letting her cakes burn while he watched over them.
 
He was at the time preoccupied with the problem of how to repel the Danes, who had captured swaths of Anglo-Saxon England.

What is thought to be his grave in the churchyard of St. Bartholomew’s Church, in the Hyde area of the ancient city of Winchester, was excavated Monday and Tuesday, the Winchester diocese said in an online release.
The king in the parking lot

“Following the completion of work, we can confirm that skeletal remains were discovered and have been exhumed from the grave,” said Nick Edmonds, a diocesan spokesman.

“Understandably, there is widespread interest in this situation. For now we can’t say any more about the remains, their nature or whereabouts, but promise to keep people updated when there is something to tell.”

The diocese said the decision to carry out the exhumation now — following three years of research — was “to counter the risk of theft or vandalism to the grave. This is in light of heightened risk owing to widespread recent speculation about the significance of its contents.”

The revelation last month that bones found under a parking lot in Leicester were those of Richard III, whose story was immortalized by Shakespeare, sparked enormous interest. It also prompted competition between Leicester and another English city, York, over where he should be reinterred.

Remains exhumed in Winchester will be stored safely until they are buried again, the diocese said.

Skeletal sleuthing team uncovered royal remains of Richard III

No scientific tests have been carried out to find out more.

“We do acknowledge that there is local interest in learning more about the remains found in this grave,” Edmonds said.

But, he said, an application would have to be made to church authorities before any scientific investigation can take place.

Despite historical significance, the church is taking precautions, said the Rev. Canon Cliff Bannister, rector of St. Batholomew’s Church.

“Although we know there is historical interest in this site, our chief concern this week has been to ensure that the exhumation of human remains from a consecrated Christian burial site has been fulfilled in a reverent and dignified manner,” he said.

26 thoughts on “Unmarked grave dug up in hunt for England’s King Alfred the Great

  1. I think the admin of this site is truly working hard in favor of his site, as here every material is quality based data.

    Feel free to visit my weblog Yoni massage London (Vern)

    Like

  2. Having read this I believed it was very informative. I
    appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this information together.

    I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

    Feel free to surf to my homepage Melbourne plumbing [Lilliana]

    Like

  3. Hi I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by accident,
    while I was researching on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now and would
    just like to say kudos for a marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have saved it and also included your
    RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more,
    Please do keep up the excellent job.

    My web site: Body to Body Massage London, Wallace,

    Like

  4. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the long run and
    it’s time to be happy. I have learn this put up and if
    I could I wish to recommend you few fascinating issues or advice.
    Maybe you could write subsequent articles relating to this article.
    I wish to learn more issues approximately it!

    My website – asian massage (http://wo.liushua.com)

    Like

  5. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your blog and in depth information you present.

    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the
    same unwanted rehashed material. Fantastic read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Have a look at my webpage … London Erotic Massage, http://Akdenizforum.hol.es/,

    Like

  6. Hello. I am wondering if you’d be interested in doing a link exchange?
    I see your website: http://donovan780.byethost22.com/unmarked-grave-dug-up-in-hunt-for-englands-king-alfred-the-great-2/ and my blog are based around the
    same subject matter. I’d really like to swap links
    or perhaps guest author a write-up for you. Here is my personal email:
    melisacapra@aol.com. Make sure you contact me if you’re even remotely interested.
    Thanks.

    Also visit my web site: Clash of Clans Cheats

    Like

  7. Howdy fantastic website! Does running a blog similar to this take a large amount
    of work? I’ve no expertise in programming but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyway, if you have any recommendations or techniques for new
    blog owners please share. I know this is off topic but I simply needed to ask.
    Cheers!

    Here is my homepage :: Lexmark Printer Ink (Eugenia)

    Like

  8. Hi! I realize this is sort of off-topic but I had
    to ask. Does running a well-established blog like yours require
    a massive amount work? I am completely new to writing a
    blog but I do write in my diary everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able
    to share my personal experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or
    tips for new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

    Also visit my web-site: Clash of Clans Cheat

    Like

  9. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to death at work so
    I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, awesome blog!

    Feel free to viait my web blog: hostgator discount

    Like

  10. It increases the blood flow to the scalp and the hair follicles beneath it.

    Those with tresses that lack shine may benefit from using grape seed oil or perhaps coconut oil.
    Coconut oil extract benefits our health in many ways.

    Like

  11. They easily become bored and all they want to do is run around.

    Things like Whispersync, X-ray, and Amazon Prime really illustrate how Amazon is trying to create their own experience.
    If you plan to live within their system,
    that’s a great benefit but does it make up for the lack of expandable
    storage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

